Port Royal was named after the Roy family. Dorothy Roy and her husband, John owned a warehouse chartered by the crown, a ferry service across the Rappahannock River to King George County, and a tavern. The chimneys of the Roy House are preserved landmarks in the town.
The Town was incorporated in 1744. The "town green", upon which stands today, the Town Hall and the Firehouse, was forever reserved "for public and civic use".
The Town offers much to see and do throughout the year. Take a walk along the streets and take a self guided tour, pamphlets are available on this web-site or in front of the Masonic Lodge, located on King Street. Attend the many free events, which include the Historic Port Royal's July 4th event with the reading of the Declaration of Independence, experience the Pirate Invasion, visit the museums, antique stores, and dine at one of our three restaurants. The town is most proud of our recent accomplishment, the Town Municipal Pier, located at the bottom of King Street. The landing also offers a soft launch for Kyakers and Canoe enthusiast to enjoy a day exploring the banks of the Rappahannock River.